Wounds in the Sky series by V.R. Cardoso

Dragon Dodgers (Wounds in the Sky 0.5)

AUTHOR’S BLURB: “When there is life on ground, there is death in the sky”

Dragons rule the land and mankind hides underground. Only a brave few dare to cross the great outdoors – Surface Runners.

Captain Targon of the Dragon Dodgers has Ran the Surface for far too many years, but he has finally found the mother of all jobs. In the hope of becoming rich beyond his wildest dreams, he has dragged his men all the way across the continent, to a land they’ve never been. But the men are tired of their Captain’s secrecy and exhausted by the long and dangerous journey. There are whispers within the Company and some believe that a change of leadership is required.

Has Targon finally found the job that will allow him to leave his Surface Running days behind? Or is he taking the Dragon Dodgers to their doom?

MY REVIEW: This was a really interesting book. I wasn’t sure what audience the writer was going for, but they had me. And boy, was I glad. It was exciting and worrisome and I never feel that way about some silly adventure book. It made such an impression that a year after reading it, I’m still excited about it and trying to get others to try it.

The Dragon Hunter And The Mage (Wounds in the Sky #1)

AUTHOR’S BLURB: Magic can make you invincible, if it doesn’t get you killed first.

Aric and Fadan are half-brothers. Both sons of the Empress, but only one of them the son of the Emperor. A decade ago, Fadan’s powerful father tore the Empire in two by outlawing the use and practice of magic. Forbidden from seeing each other, Aric and Fadan defy the Emperor and wander the vast Imperial Citadel until one night, they stumble upon an ancient Manual of Magic. They are faced with a choice: take the book straight to the Emperor or see if one of them has the forbidden magical Talent. Their world is turned upside down and the half-brothers find themselves swept away as tragedy and conspiracy separate them, sending each to either end of the Empire. In a world of dark mages, massive creatures, and vengeful gods, one will train as a Dragon Hunter while the other taps into magical powers that could spell his execution.
Dark forces are moving in the shadows and no one in the Empire is ready for what’s to come. Will Aric and Fadan survive to ever see each other again?

The Shadow of Fallen Gods (Wounds in the Sky, #2)


UPDATE: The author has stated this series will have 5 main books (not to count the prequel) total when complete. And he is pretty sure that the remaining books won’t take nearly as long to get out as the first full book did, as that was world-building.

Comments are closed.


Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: